Public Kempax report
Daily Top CD Rates · 2026-08-08
Kempax Research
Loop report · 2026-08-08
Daily Top CD Rates — Availability-aware snapshot for August 9, 2026
This bounded review keeps insured CD candidates in view even when a provider does not state nationwide availability. Availability is shown per item rather than used as an automatic exclusion. Among the current primary rate signals, Popular Direct displays the highest APY at 4.35% for 18 months , followed by Happen Bank at 4.30% for 24 months , First National Bank of America at 4.25% for 120 months , Quorum Federal Credit Union’s fixed-term share account at 4.20% for 7 months , and CFG Bank at 4.17% for 18 months . These terms are not interchangeable, and this is not a market-wide ranking. Sallie Mae’s 4.35% display is dated August 10, one day after this snapshot, so it is not treated as current here.
Insurance remains a required inclusion condition. The retained products show FDIC coverage or federal NCUA share insurance in the cited provider material. A missing national-availability statement is labeled unclear , not treated as evidence that a product is unavailable nationally.
Ranked primary rate signals
The ranking is a descriptive sort by displayed APY among current, primary-page signals. Term, minimum deposit, eligibility, insurance, and early-withdrawal details remain decision-critical; a longer term is not automatically a better offer.
Rank Product Displayed APY and term Why it ranks ---: --- --- --- 1 Popular Direct CDs 4.35% 18 months ; also 4.25% 12 months and 4.15% 6 months; APYs effective 2026-08-03 Highest as-of-date primary APY in this set at a mid-length term; $10,000 minimum and external-bank funding apply. 2 Happen Bank CDs 4.30% 24 months ; also 4.20% 6 and 11 months and 4.00% 14 months; table accurate 2026-08-07 Five basis points below the top signal with a two-year term; primary U.S. address and account approval are required. 3 First National Bank of America online CDs 4.25% 120 months ; also 4.20% 48 and 60 months and 4.05% 13 months; accurate 2026-08-08 Strong rate signal with the clearest national indicator, but the top row locks funds for ten years. 4 Quorum FCU Term Savings 4.20% 7 months , new money only; also 4.15% 11 and 60 months; effective 2026-07-09 Shortest top-five term, but it is a fixed-term share account rather than a conventional bank CD and requires membership. 5 CFG Bank CDs 4.17% 18 months ; also 4.15% 12 months and 4.05% 36 and 60 months; rates dated 2026-07-27 Current primary rate signal, but the exact post-30-day early-withdrawal schedule is not disclosed on the reviewed page.
Availability and account terms for every retained candidate
All ten rows below have FDIC or NCUA evidence in the reviewed provider material. Products remain useful context when a rate table, penalty schedule, or eligibility detail is incomplete, but incomplete fields are marked rather than inferred.
Candidate and rate evidence Availability scope Eligibility or membership restrictions APY and term Minimum deposit Early-withdrawal penalty Insurance evidence --- --- --- --- ---: --- --- Popular Direct Unclear ; no all-50-state or state list was found on the reviewed page. Online direct CD; an external U.S. bank account is required. 4.35% 18 months; 4.25% 12 months; 4.15% 6 months; effective 2026-08-03. $10,000 The page states 270 days of simple interest for 12 to less than 36 months, so the 12- and 18-month rows use that tier. Exact disclosure should be rechecked before a customer opens an account. Deposits opened through Popular Bank, Member FDIC , on the cited provider page. Sallie Mae Unclear ; no all-50-state or state list was found on the reviewed page. Online consumer application and external-bank funding. 4.35% 36 and 60 months; 4.25% 18 and 24 months. The displayed footnote says accurate 2026-08-10, after this snapshot. $2,500 90 days of simple interest for terms up to 12 months; 180 days for terms over 12 months; the penalty may reduce principal if interest is insufficient. FDIC-insured, as stated on the cited provider page. First National Bank of America National indicator shown through the provider’s National rate view; this is not a state-by-state legal opinion. Personal online CDs; online ACH and personal-account restrictions apply. 4.25% 120 months; 4.20% 48 and 60 months; 4.05% 13 months; rates accurate 2026-08-08. $1,000 minimum balance to obtain the APY 90 days of interest for 1–11 months; 180 for 12–23; 360 for 24–47; 540 for 48–84; 720 for 96–120. The penalty may reduce principal. See the online CD FAQ. FDIC-insured up to applicable limits, with product evidence on the CD page. CFG Bank Unclear ; no all-50-state or state list was found on the reviewed page. Online and branch channels; no additional restriction was stated in the reviewed rate page. 4.17% 18 months; 4.15% 12 months; 4.05% 36 and 60 months; rates dated 2026-07-27. $500 to open and $500 daily minimum balance No withdrawals in the first 30 days. After that, the page says a penalty applies but does not give an exact schedule. Member FDIC FDIC-insured product flow, as shown by the cited provider material. Bread Savings Unclear ; no all-50-state or state list was found on the reviewed page. Personal online CD; no additional restriction was stated in the reviewed product selector. Primary page visibly exposes 3.80% 3 months. A secondary Bankrate scan reports up to 4.50% 18 months, but that term and rate were not confirmed on the primary page. $1,500 The provider page says an early-withdrawal penalty applies; the exact schedule was not visible. FDIC Member FDIC evidence on the cited provider material. E TRADE Bank Unclear ; no all-50-state or state list was found on the reviewed page. U.S. retail online bank product; no additional restriction was stated on the reviewed product page. Product page states 6 months to 5 years, but the live APY table was blank. A Bankrate scan reports up to 4.40% 12 months without primary confirmation. None stated The official rate and fee schedule lists 90 days for 12 months, 135 for 18 months, 180 for 2 years, 270 for 3 years, and 450 days for 5 years; partial withdrawals are not permitted. Morgan Stanley Private Bank, N.A., Member FDIC, as identified on the cited product page. TAB Bank Unclear ; no all-50-state or state list was found on the reviewed page. Online personal CD; no additional restriction was stated on the reviewed rate page. The table shows 4.05% 12 months, 4.10% 18, 4.15% 24, and 4.20% 36–60, while the headline says “up to 4.05%.” Rates are shown as current 2026-08-08. $1,000 The page says a penalty may be imposed but gives no exact schedule. FDIC standard insurance amount; Member FDIC, as stated on the cited page. Happen Bank Eligibility-limited ; a primary U.S. address and account approval are required, while geographic scope is not stated. Primary U.S. address; account subject to approval; maximum opening deposit is $500,000. 4.30% 24 months; 4.20% 6 and 11 months; 4.00% 14 months; table accurate 2026-08-07. $500 The CD Agreement states 90 days of simple interest for 1 year or less and 180 days for over 1 year; it also provides a 10-day maturity grace period. Happen Bank, N.A., Member FDIC, up to applicable limits. Quorum FCU Term Savings Membership eligibility-limited ; geographic scope is not stated. Membership through a select employee group, family of an eligible member, or the American Consumer Council; see the eligibility page. 4.20% 7 months, new money only; 4.15% 11 and 60 months; effective 2026-07-09. This is a fixed-term share account, not a conventional bank CD. $100 A pre-maturity withdrawal may cost several months of accumulated dividends; the exact schedule was not visible. The account has a seven-day maturity window. Federally NCUA-insured, as stated on the cited credit-union product page. Credit One Bank Jumbo CD Unclear ; no all-50-state or state list was found on the reviewed page. Online deposit product; promotional or new-money terms may apply. The current page exposed no usable APY or term table; it describes a high-yield jumbo CD. $100,000 The page says a penalty may be imposed but does not give an exact schedule. Credit One Bank, Member FDIC, certificate 25620, as stated on the cited page.
No reviewed provider page established a state- or region-limited restriction, so that label is not assigned. Unclear means the page did not establish nationwide or state region scope; it does not mean the product is unavailable in any particular state. Happen and Quorum have explicit eligibility limits and are labeled accordingly.
Not ranked as current rate leaders
Sallie Mae is not ranked because its displayed footnote is future-dated to 2026-08-10. Bread and E TRADE are not ranked because their higher or current APY displays were not primary-confirmed. TAB has a material headline-versus-table conflict. CFG and Quorum remain in the descriptive ranking with their unresolved penalty or membership caveats because their current primary APY signals are readable and their insurance evidence is present. Credit One is retained as a high-minimum watch item, not a rate leader, because its current APY and term table was not readable.
User-reported issues
The following are dated public reports and questions, mostly from Reddit. They are self-selected anecdotes and workflow signals, not prevalence estimates. Each item is explicitly labeled as a reported experience or an official explanation; no anecdote is treated as verified institution policy or generalized to the listed providers.
- Reported experience — Ally Bank, July 30, 2026. A customer said the app returned errors or crashed during an early-close attempt, a phone agent said a transfer would take 3–5 days, and later support routed the customer between chat and phone while the account still showed the funds. Dated feedback. This is one detailed report, not evidence of a systemic Ally failure.
- Reported product-education signal — Vanguard brokered CDs, July 24, 2026. A customer could not identify how to use cash held outside Vanguard for a CD purchase; another commenter said prior CDs had been called before maturity and advised checking callability. Dated feedback. The thread does not establish a failed deposit, loss, or general call rate.
- Reported experience — Wells Fargo CD, June 17, 2026. A customer said a $500,000 CD auto-renewed at 0.06% after the grace period was missed and asked how the early-close charge would be calculated. Dated feedback. This is an account-specific report and rate-confusion signal, not verified Wells Fargo policy.
- Reported experience — Marcus by Goldman Sachs, June 11, 2026 comment. A commenter said a 4.4% CD was nearing maturity while the renewal offer was 4.0%. Dated feedback. It illustrates renewal-rate risk but does not establish a pricing error or institution-wide practice.
- User question plus verified official explanation — Fidelity brokered CD, May 30, 2026. A customer saw a market value slightly below $5,000 before maturity and asked whether principal and interest would be returned. Fidelity’s official response distinguishes interim market value from maturity value and says a new-issue CD held to maturity returns principal plus applicable interest. Dated feedback and official response. The user’s question is not a confirmed payout failure; the Fidelity response is the verified guidance.
- User workflow question plus verified official explanation — Fidelity CD proceeds, May 5, 2026. A customer could not use expected maturity proceeds for a new CD before the cash became available for trading. Fidelity’s official response says principal and interest are normally credited at maturity, an issuer may take up to 10 days to send interest, and Auto Roll is available for eligible securities. Dated feedback and official response. This is just outside a 90-day lookback but is retained because it directly describes a current-facing settlement risk; it is not a confirmed failure.
- Low-confidence reported experience — Newtek Bank, May 7, 2026 comment. A commenter described difficulty adding beneficiaries before funding, unclear APY and term display, cumbersome two-factor authentication, limited funding flexibility, and limited maturity controls. Dated feedback. It is an embedded comment outside the recent window and was not independently verified against Newtek policy.
- Older reported product limit — Ally Bank, March 3, 2026. A customer said a 40-CD limit disrupted a planned CD ladder. Dated feedback. This is an older isolated report, not a current prevalence claim.
- Older account-specific policy-change report — Discover IRA CD, February 25, 2026. A customer said Discover would no longer renew an IRA CD into another IRA CD and would instead move the balance to an IRA savings account if no action was taken. Dated feedback. Treat the customer’s letter as account-specific evidence; current Discover policy was not verified here.
- Positive counter-signal — May 18 and July 14, 2026 comments. A commenter reported no trouble setting up or retrieving funds from several online banks and described Chase’s website as easy to use. Dated feedback. This prevents the issue sample from being read as uniformly negative; it is not a product review or prevalence estimate.
Verified policy context
- The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau’s CD explainer says CDs generally require funds to remain for a stated term and that early withdrawal generally incurs a penalty.
- The CFPB Regulation DD disclosure interpretation says disclosures should state how an early-withdrawal penalty is calculated and whether the account renews automatically, including the grace period.
- The FDIC shopping guide advises checking renewal rates, grace periods, early-redemption terms, and whether a long-term or market-linked CD is callable.
- Fidelity’s brokered-CD guidance distinguishes bank CDs from brokered CDs and explains secondary-market liquidity and call features. The maturity explanation states that holding a new-issue brokered CD to maturity returns principal plus agreed interest.
- The Ally Bank Deposit Agreement is the contractual source for Ally’s early-closure penalty schedule. It does not verify that the reported app or support incident occurred.
The current public-feedback refresh returned web-index results with incomplete or stale-coverage warnings and no additional dated, substantive issue tied to one of the ten retained candidates. Direct reads of the strongest current Reddit links were unavailable, so no new search result was upgraded into a verified claim. No recent issue was found for a candidate does not mean that no issue exists.
Method and limitations
- The rate set contains ten insured CD or CD-like candidates discovered in the current scan. It is a bounded comparison, not a market-wide leaderboard.
- Provider pages were accessed on 2026-08-09 UTC; provider effective or accurate dates are shown beside each rate.
- Primary pages were required for rate promotion. Secondary rate tables are identified as secondary and do not upgrade blank or conflicting primary displays.
- Dynamic or blank displays prevent exact primary confirmation for Bread’s longer-term rate, E TRADE’s live APY table, and Credit One’s APY term table. TAB’s headline conflicts with its term table. CFG, TAB, Quorum, Bread, and Credit One do not expose a complete early-withdrawal schedule in the reviewed page.
- The feedback sample is small, self-selected, mostly Reddit, and includes reports outside the main 90-day window where they explain a current workflow risk. “Recurring” describes repeated themes in the sample, not frequency in the population.
- No comparable prior snapshot was supplied, so this report makes no new-leader or rate-change claim.
Report details
<small Access date: 2026-08-09 UTC. Review scope: ten insured CD or CD-like candidates plus dated public feedback. Loop: Daily Top CD Rates. Run: looprun-ef0e7eb2-53e5-49a6-b94f-30256d61ac9a. Session: Synthesize the availability-aware CD report. Owner: General Codex Agent. Status: publication candidate; not published.< small